Why Buddhism Answers Most of the World’s Problems

I’m going to cut to the chase; I found myself just a few minutes ago ready to metaphorically blast social media with a literary rocket launcher due to the flooding of childish, close-minded opinions that bombed my newsfeeds. As a Mormon and a feminist (the real Merriam-Webster definition) I have tuned in to a lot of the discussion on the LDS church and its recent excommunications of John Dehlin, Kate Kelly, and other public dissenters. [For those of you who are not aware of the subject, there is a lot of discussion in the LDS church about women holding the priesthood which is an office of responsibility held only by men.] This afternoon I read argument after argument from both parties claiming the other lacked spirituality which, to me, feels like one of the lowest verbal blows you can make to another person. I popped on to the group Ordain Women’s website and read their peaceful, factual quotes with interesting verbage from Joseph Smith himself. I then compared it to lds.org’s statements which were equally peaceful and sound.

At that moment, it hit me that I could empathize and see both sides clearly. I have a small voice. In fact, I am virtually non-existent in the wide realm of the global internet. But I believe in sharing truth and so I wanted to share my tiny testimony with those who perhaps are thirsting for understanding in a world that seems to value slicing into each other’s souls.

The Buddhists have a term called “Shenpa” which roughly translates to “attachment”, including attachments to being “right” that overindulge our ego. One of their great quests lies in overcoming Shenpa and allowing others to live their lives, regardless of whether they stand for right or wrong. I believe in this. I believe that when we feel the temptation to ferociously type a biting response or chuck swears at the driver who cut us off, we need to remember that:

  • The human you just called a “moron” feels and learns. It doesn’t matter if it’s the same way as you or not.
  • Their state of “rightness” is totally irrelevant to your happiness.
  • It is possible to stand for truth without ripping your neighbor’s beliefs to minuscule particles of mocked nothingness.
  • We find and radiate light through sharing positivity. Any other path leads to a diminishing of self.

I admit it; I got Shenpa-d this morning by the ruthless debates I stumbled upon. But I believe in changing, repenting, reforming, and all types of redemption so cheers to the rest of my Shenpa-free day.

P.S. For those of you interested in the magic of abandoning the attachment of being right, this link leads you to a TedTalk with brilliant wisdom on the comfort of accepting your own fallibility.

Leave a comment